Try Try Again

If at first you don’t succeed, try again

common knowledge!

I once read where it took Thomas Edison 1000 attempts to invent the light bulb. Anyway, the story goes that someone asked if he was tempted to give up because of so many failures. And his reply was stellar in my opinion: “No, I just learned 999 times how NOT to make a light bulb“.

Keep in mind that I found this information on the internet so I’m not sure if it’s true or not! But the sentiment is solid. As a self-titled natural klutz (have I got stories to tell you), I do not always find it easy to master a new skill. But then again, don’t we all have problems learning something new? Sure we do. But do we admit it? Not always. Since I’m now retired, I want to try my hand at several new endeavors for me: this blog, new skills like a language and crafts like macramé. These things do not come naturally to me, but yet I persevere and don’t give up.

Have I given up in the past? Sure. I decided many years ago that some things I just didn’t need to learn. Like shooting a shotgun (tried it once, never again) and driving a jeep through some serious gumbo-mud in the Mississippi delta at Eagle Lake (one and done; never again). But at 41 years of age, I started nursing school. Talk about a lot of new skills! WOW! At that age, I already knew how uncoordinated I am, so I spent the time to practice practice practice.

And that’s the same thing with this blog. Right now, I’m attempting to embed a link to another URL/Blog. And WP doesn’t like what I’ve done. So, here I go to research what and how to do it.

Note: WordPress does NOT have a lot of HINTS and TIPS and HELP(or else I haven’t found them yet!) You are really just expected to jump out there and do it I guess. Now, to provide some background, I’ve had a computer degree since 1983. I’ve been a systems designer, a code programmer {DOS (yes, I’m that old); basic language (really, I am that old), dbase (did a whole mortgage loan application process using dbase), rbase, LOTUS (the precursor to Excel), and several in-house proprietary coding systems. Plus, I did desktop publishing (a monthly news paper for a real estate company)!

But all that experience doesn’t lend me much insight on how to accomplish blogging on WordPress. But I’m going to persist. And will accomplish two goals: 1) Create and maintain my blog intending to help anyone who has lost a beloved pet learn to move through their grief and 2) Learn how to ‘blog’…

emme

*Keeping it simple

Leave a comment